arent we all blind sometimes?
23.08.2004 ~ 6:47 pm

Was up till 2 and a bit am making Latin (My Villa) poster. I used my most favourite interiors clippings, and no one cared! Certainly not my Latin teacher who, although nice, is the dullest, most conservative, boring person ever. It was the simplest task ever, but as usual, I spent more than sufficient time on it and wove a whole story around it:

Hello gentle visitor, and welcome to my house, or as I like to call it: the Villa of Lok. After all, my pretentious abode deserves some recognition after suffering years of walls being knocked down and rebuilt, windows widened, furniture rearranged, rugs/chairs/wardrobes/lamps/bottles/pepper-grinders moved around� The style of my villa can only be described as eclectic, reflecting my multi-faceted personality. Overall, it is quite modern, but I have preserved some classical elements. One theme, however, is evident throughout � I like big windows because sunlight really breathes life into a room. But I shan't bother you any longer. Here is a brief tour of my favourite rooms in my villa � I hope you like it!

Here is a view into the courtyard from the dining room. Every house should have one because it's like a garden, but private and away from prying eyes of neighbours. All rooms connected to the courtyard have large French doors that open out. In the summer, I move the dining room table outside onto the decking and eat there, but below is where I like to sit and read throughout the year. Trees provide shade from the sun and shelter from the rain.

This is my living area. I use it for recreation - television, music and internet (notice the laptop computer and printer hidden in the corner). I fill this room with all the wonderful things I find in markets and junkyards and am therefore very protective about it. Only my closest and dearest are entertained here; I scare unwanted guests away with my faux-tiger skin. A friend bought it for me after some mice came in through the chimney.

The dining room is where I entertain guests. It is essentially a blank canvas with white walls and a dark wooden floor. I gave this room personality with rugs, a vast collection of coloured bottles, antique chairs and a painted chandelier. I call this Movable Art because all of it can be replaced at whim. Next month, I could fill the shelves with books and pretend that it's a library.

The bathroom. I like to sing and think deep thoughts here, so this room is as important as any other. I try to preserve the sunlight without compromising my privacy, so I fit a puppet show fa�ade and as many plants as I can on the windowsill.

My bedroom used to look like the one on the left because I wanted to have a romantic boudoir reminiscent of the Moulin Rouge. Then I realised what the Moulin Rouge was. And after a long day, the redness made it look like one of the lower levels of hell, so I painted over the walls with white. Now it's my sanctuary from life and all its stresses. The only remotely busy piece of art I have here is hung over the headboard so I can't see it when I am in bed.

And she praised everyone else for their mediocrity and catalogue clippings. Mine were from real, functional houses! And my self-designed floorplan was evidently not elaborate enough because everyone else downloaded overdone plans of gaudy mansions. My obvious talent, taste and the beauty of simplicity was missed by all. Just you wait till I graduate from Harvard School of Design and earn bucket loads of money erecting monuments of functional beauty. *shakes fist*

I guess it's the pretentiousness. No one likes an arse.

My drafting teacher liked it.

Oh yeah, new schedule. I now have second lunch, like last year, at 11am. It's half an hour earlier than my previous third lunch, so half of my burger sat uneaten. However, I get to eat it with Arwen and watch her sketch. My English class is much smaller because it was a K class that turned AP and somehow my teacher (the evil one, said they) much nicer. She was raving and excited and fabulously... fangirly. "Mel Gibson - God damn!" "Antonio Banderas *noise of obvious approval*"

With the exception of Calculus (37 people), many of my new classes are much smaller, which I guess is a good thing.

Aaaaaaaaaaanyway. I came on to tell you how terrible I felt and how tired I was and how Matt, Ben & Co. rode in on their white horses and saved me. I was too tired to do any interneting, so went for a nap and fell asleep immediately during Another Little Hole. When I woke up at Good Goodnight, I felt rejuvenated and optimistic and rediscovered the genius of Extraordinary Thing. These are songs that I will love forever.

Yearbook came out today. The words "Matt Hales" are in it. Ho ho ho. Oh, and there is a ridculous poem on the back written by Jimmy (Yearbook editor). Frankly it's shit.

I am powerful, I am masterful

I cry, I sweat, I laugh, I shout

I study and I learn

I am more than a student

I am a Lobo

I am fierce, I am generous

I am powerful, and alone I am weak

I am more than a team

I am a Lobo

I don red, black and white

I have seen my life begin to take

flight

I was not a Lobo

I still am a Lobo

I remember reading an article he wrote for journalism about a wedding. I was shocked at the grammatical-mistake-riddled prose and the complete pointlessness of it. I am so critical and mean.

Anyway: Aqualung. Yeah!

<< Thirty-minute therapy. >>

th since 5th october 2001