arent we all blind sometimes?
12.07.2003 ~ 12:24 am

hello.

i�ve been obsessing about this song lately. i forced everyone to listen to it yesterday evening in pizza hut (ah ha, ticca, you can�t hear me say it). it�s called Hello There, which is just as well since i have this annoying habit of saying hello every entry. my xanga non-site is actually called Hello Gentle Reader. when did i even start? i suppose it�s just polite, isn�t it? to greet your reader, make him or her feel at home.

back to the song. i personally never say �hello there�. do you? i don�t really understand the point of the word �there�. do people even say �hello there�? i think i only person i�ve heard say �hello there� was my DT teacher. speaking if DT (great link), i�m going to the new designers show tomorrow with some DT buddies of mine. people say, �but you�re not doing DT.� and i say, �yeah well, i�m not doing english and i�m still reading books.�

i�m gonna say �hello there� now for the sake of irony. on to the lyrics, which are the sweetest things in the world. before that, i need to give credit where it is due. Hello There can be found in Donut, a collection of songs for the fellow appreciators of RUTH. it was written by matt hales and ben hales (surprise!).

Hello There

I�d like to show you
Around my life
It�s not finished yet
But I think it has potential
I was wondering
If you might like to come
And live in it with me
It could be nice
It just needs a woman�s touch
With the curtains
And the lights
Oh a woman�s touch
I think that�s all i need

Oh hello hello hello hello hello there
You know you know you know I�m lonely
Don�t say no say no �cause that�s not fair

I bought a second skin
With my second mortgage
You�re always telling me
It should be wonderful
To know that you�re alive
Should i decide to be
Black instead of white
If that�s all right
If that�s not misconstrued
As wrong instead of right
I need a change
A change is all I need

Oh hello hello hello hello hello there
You know you know you know I�m lonely
Don�t say no say no �cause that�s not fair

Well I guess it would be nice
To think I could be saved
And that the fires of hell won�t take me
But they would
Oh yeah

Oh hello hello hello hello hello there
You know you know you know I�m lonely
Don�t say no say no �cause that�s not fair

Oh hello hello hello hello hello there
You know you know you know I�m lonely
Don�t say no say no �cause that�s not fair

I guess it would be nice
Well I guess it would be nice
Yeah yeah

i�ve dubbed this the proposal song. it doesn�t have to be a proposal song, but the cohabitation song just doesn�t have the same ring to it. i love it. it�s sweet and happy and wonderful. it stopped me eating the first time i heard it. maybe i choked out of joy or something, but i distinctly remember staring at a bowl of noodles with a stupid grin on my face.

<< Oh hello hello hello hello hello there... >>

th since 5th october 2001