arent we all blind sometimes?
17.07.2003 ~ 2:01 am

Bloody bloody hell. Random people are talking to me and I have blisters on my feet.

I walked to blockbusters today to return the DVDs after seeing Donnie Darko again with the cast commentary and making my mum watch it as well. So as usual, I left the house and as usual, I waved to this girl who lives on the road. �You�ve grown up,� she said. We�ve never spoken before, not properly. Only the occasional �hello�. and being the queen of replies, I said, �oh, have I?�

I walked away, creating the above mentioned blisters. As I was walking past the derelict waitrose, I took a bottle of water out of my bag and was about t drink it, when some random man came up and said,

�I thought I�d say hi.�

oh, does one say hi to strangers now? I was considering the rudeness of that statement when the man said,

�do you go to school here?�

Cos people go to school in dilapidated supermarkets all the time. � No.�

�do you live near here?�

�No.� oh, oh I�m sorry, piss off.

And he did. And I was planning to say that I was from everywhere, and that �living� was a bit of a loose term, what with the whole dead thing and all. But then there was the broad daylight thing, so pretending to be a vampire wouldn�t really work. Which was a shame.

The first reaction I had was that I had been robbed, and that the conversation was a distraction, so I wouldn�t notice that my iPod, my digital camera, my phone, my mum�s phone and my money was being stolen. But all my stuff was there, including the DVDs.

On the way back, people stared at me and some little boys were giggling and said �excuse me�, but I walked right past. I thought that someone had written �arsehole� or an equivalent on my forehead.

I was walking as usual, to get from A to B, when someone said �hi�. again. as usual. I was about to turn around sharply and say, �for fuck�s sake, leave me alone� when I realised this time it was someone I actually know. One of my coach stop buddies.

I actually saw him once, when I was on my way to post this box of stuff for my mum. He was walking practically the whole way slightly ahead of me, but I thought �nah, can�t be� because we were walking towards the coach stop and it was 10 minutes after the coach normally stops at the stop anyway. I might have already told you this. I apologise, but anyway, when we got to the end of the road, I saw him waving at me. Turns out he went on this other coach for some girl. And today, he saw me because he was on the way to see her. Aww, young love.

Anyway, I told him about the random people talking and therefore had a proper conversation with someone I know. Which was nice. We take these things for granted, you know. Talking to people one has met before. I really thought I was crazy today, or that I was living in some tangent universe (Donnie Darko is getting to me. Have you seen the official website? It�s so cool)

I was thinking as I was walking (which is the best time to think as long as people aren�t interrupting you�re thoughts with their conversation) and I thought that it is because I talk to myself, so I seem more approachable. Then I realised that I hadn�t been talking to myself. Not until after all the people started talking to me, anyway. And my coach buddy knows that I enjoy conversing with myself.

The general public thinks I�m crazy when I talk to myself. So without the self-talking, I�m quite the approachable and people might also mistake me for other Chinese girls who are quite sane. Therefore, I have decided, I will always talk to myself from this day onwards to avoid unwanted attention. And yes, that did make sense. It�s all very ironic, isn�t it?

It is now 1:22 and several hours after I typed the above. Several things:

Channel 4 are advertising Will & Grace with one of my favourite songs, Gay Bar. How relevant. I always look forward to W&G ads, the song just makes my day.

Where the hell is Helvetica? And what about Geneva? Where are my beloved Apple fonts? Miriam is cool, though. So is Blackadder.

And that is all for today. Okay, not all. I called good bye to karen and chess today. Talked to the former for hours, the latter for only minutes, cos she had to leave. It�s comforting to think that she is going to a place that sells Levis t-shirts for 5 quid. (there is no pound sign on this computer. There was one on my iMac.)

Good bye.

<< oh hi. i don't know you. >>

th since 5th october 2001