arent we all blind sometimes?
23.06.2003 ~ 10:13 pm

my parents bought a water melon today. they also bought lots of other fruit - strawberries, grapes, oranges and those little plum tomatoes. i had a conversation with my mum about how we were gonna eat the other fruits before the watermelon because it�ll keep in its thick skin thing.

then i carried the watermelon from one side of the kitchen to the other (which is not a long distance, if you�ve seen my kitchen) and as i did this, i thought about the time when i was 2 and i randomly picked up this watermelon, carried it for an indeterminate distance and dropped it. and in true Malco!Lok style, i dropped it. it was still in its carrier-bag and somehow i wasn�t using the (very useful in hindsight) handles.

it was a mini watermelon, unlike the ones from my childhood in hk (my childhood, which really wasn�t that long ago. in fact, it is debatable whether it has ended.) so it fit quite well in my hands, but my subconscious thought that it�d be quite funny to repeat history. so i kneeled there, wondering why that just happened, while juice pooled around my Esprit-clad knees. not quite. still, lotta juice.

and so all plans for melon-keepage were ruined and the fridge is now stuffed full of potentially off-going fruit. wish i had a juicer.

epilogue (huh): the watermelon was good - really sweet and juicy, like the ones from my childhood in hk. (my childhood, which really wasn�t that long ago. in fact, it is debatable whether it has ended.)

<< watermelon is a nice fruit when you don�t drop it. >>

th since 5th october 2001